Sie befinden sich auf der vVARDIS Website für zahnmedizinische Fachkreise. Wenn Sie sich stattdessen für unser Angebot für Verbraucher/-innen interessieren, klicken Sie bitte hier.

Kostenloser Versand ab 280 CHF / 270 EUR Bestellwert

CurodontTM Repair

Regenerative Behandlung von Initialkaries
– Produkt zur professionellen Anwendung; Abgabe nur an zahnmedizinische Fachkreise –

CURODONTTM REPAIR stoppt Initialkaries, remineralisiert die Schmelzstruktur und regeneriert so den angegriffenen Zahnschmelz.

Seine patentierte Monomer-Peptid-104-Technologie remineralisiert die Schmelzstruktur in der Tiefe des Defekts und erhält so den Zahn.

Nicht-invasiv, einfach anzuwenden und schmerzfrei. Für alle Patientinnen und Patienten geeignet.

CHF 280.00 zzgl. MwSt

10 Einheiten

BESCHREIBUNG

Eine Packung enthält 10 Stück gebrauchsfertige Applikatoren.
Mit einem Applikator lassen sich 1 – 3 Läsionen pro Patient/in behandeln.

ANWENDUNG
In der Zahnarztpraxis
In der Zahnarztpraxis und zu Hause

Gesteuerte Schmelzregeneration

Die gesteuerte Schmelzregeneration (GER; Guided Enamel Regeneration) ist ein regeneratives Behandlungskonzept für die Versorgung von frühen Kariesläsionen. Die GER schliesst die Lücke zwischen Prophylaxe und invasiv-restaurativen Behandlungen. Sie ermöglicht eine wirksame Therapie der Initialkaries durch tiefenwirksame Schmelzregeneration unter Erhalt der Zahnintegrität. Indem die Monomer-Peptid-104 Technologie in CurodontTM Repair schnell in die Tiefe der aktiven, nicht kavitierten Initialkariesläsionen (Indikationen für CurodontTM Repair siehe Karies-Klassifikationstabelle) diffundiert und dort neue Hydroxylapatit-Kristalle bildet, wird durch eine einfache, nicht-invasive und schmerzfreie Behandlung eine gesteuerte Schmelzregeneration erreicht.

Wirkmechanismus

Die Technologie in CurodontTM Repair ist als niedrigviskose Flüssigkeit. Die einzigartigen Bedingungen, die in Kariesläsionen herrschen, ermöglichen, dass die Peptidmonomere sich selbst organisierend eine Biomatrix aufbauen. Diese Matrix steuert die Schmelzregeneration, indem sie als „Gerüst“ für die Bildung von neuen Hydroxylapatit-Kristallen dient.
Aktive Kariesläsion mit einer pseudo-intakten Schmelzoberflächenschicht
Die Monomer-Peptid-104-Technologie diffundiert innerhalb von 5 Minuten in die Tiefe der Kariesläsion
Die Peptide der Monomer-Peptid-104-Technologie organisieren sich und bauen innerhalb der Kariesläsion eine Biomatrix auf
Die von der Monomer-Peptid-104-Technologie gebildete Biomatrix zieht Calcium- und Phosphat-Ionen aus dem Speichel an, bewirkt dadurch eine de-novo-Nukleierung von Hydroxylapatit-Kristallen und in der Folge die Remineralisierung der Schmelzstruktur

Wissenschaftliche und klinische Evidenz

CurodontTM Repair (CR) zeigt eine signifikant überlegene Inaktivierung und Regression der Initialkaries verglichen mit Fluoridlack (FL) allein.1
Nach 6 Monaten waren 80 % der mit CR + FL behandelten Kariesläsionen inaktiv gegenüber 34 % der nur mit FL behandelten Läsionen, beurteilt anhand der Nyvad-Kriterien für Kariesaktivität.
Stärkerer Rückgang der Laserfluoreszenzwerte (Laserfluoreszenzmessung mit DIAGNODent), d. h. stärkere Karies-Regression bei Behandlung mit CR + FL versus FL allein.

Sichtbare Evidenz

Regeneration einer appproximalen Kariesläsion
Dr. Markus Schlee: Stomatologie 2014 (111); 175 – 181
Tag 0
Nach 6 Monaten
Okklusalkaries
Dr. Frank Bröseler, 2012
Tag 0
Nach 6 Monaten
Erkennbares „Verblassen“ der White-Spot-Läsion
Dr. Frank Bröseler: Broeseler, F. Et al. Clin Oral Invest 2020; 24: 123 – 132
Tag 0
Nach 6 Monaten

Anwendung

Die nicht-invasive Behandlung mit CurodontTM Repair ist sicher und einfach anzuwenden. Die Behandlung mit CurodontTM Repair dauert lediglich 8 bis 10 Minuten: ohne Bohren, ohne Betäubung und ohne Schmerzen.
  1. Professionelle Zahnreinigung rund um den betroffenen Bereich, um Zahnstein/Plaque/Beläge zu entfernen. Relative Trockenlegung des Bereichs mit Wangenhaltern und Watterollen. Optional absolute Trockenlegung mit Kofferdam.
  2. Zahnoberfläche 20 Sekunden lang mit einem in Natriumhypochlorit (2 – 3 %) getränkte Wattestäbchen reinigen, um die organischen Pellikel zu entfernen; anschliessend mit Wasser spülen.
  3. 20 Sekunden Schmelzätzung der Initialkariesläsion mit Phosphorsäuregel (35 – 37 %). Im Fall einer Approximalläsion kann das Phosphorsäuregel mit ungewachster Zahnseide im Zahnzwischenraum verteilt werden. Zahn spülen und trocken tupfen. Aggressives Trocknen wird nicht empfohlen.
  4. Einen CurodontTM Repair Applikator pro Läsion verwenden. Den Applikatorschwamm herausziehen und auf der Oberfläche der Läsion vollständig ausdrücken. Bei Approximalkaries an benachbarten Zähnen kann ein Applikator für zwei Läsionen verwendet werden.
  5. 5 Minuten warten. Nicht spülen und den Patienten/die Patientin in dieser Zeit nicht ausspucken lassen. Den Patienten/die Patientin mit den üblichen Anweisungen entlassen und die Bedeutung einer guten Mundhygiene hervorheben.
  1. Alkilzy M, Tarabaih A, Santamaria RM, Splieth CH. Self-assembling Peptide P11-4 and Fluoride for Regenerating Enamel. J Dent Res. 2018 Feb;97(2):148-154.

FAQ

Gesteuerte Schmelzregeneration oder GER (Guided Enamel Regeneration) ist im Wesentlichen ein Behandlungskonzept zur Geweberegeneration. Dabei wird durch Karies und Abnutzung verloren gegangener Zahnschmelz wieder aufgebaut, ohne zu bohren.

CurodontTM Repair ist eine niedrigviskose Flüssigkeit, die die weltweit patentierte „Monomer-Peptid-104-Technologie“ (frühere Bezeichnung: „X-Technologie“) in höchster Konzentration enthält. Diese revolutionäre Technologie nutzt ein kurzes, „intelligentes“ Peptid, das aus natürlich vorkommenden Aminosäuren aufgebaut ist. Dieses Peptid fördert die Anlagerung von Hydroxylapatit (dem wichtigsten zahnbildenden Mineral) in Initialkariesläsionen und stoppt das Fortschreiten der Karies.
CurodontTM Repair nutzt die klinisch geprüfte und preisgekrönte „Monomer-Peptid-104“-Technologie (frühere Bezeichnung: „X-Technologie“) um eine gesteuerte Schmelzregeneration in frühen, nicht kavitierten Schmelzläsionen zu induzieren. Nach der Applikation dringt diese Technologie in die Tiefe der Kariesläsion ein. Das saure Milieu in der Tiefe des Defekts bewirkt, dass sich die intelligenten Peptidmonomere zu einer Matrix organisieren, die der des natürlichen Zahnschmelzes ähnelt. Diese Matrix zieht wiederum Calcium- und Phosphat-Ionen aus dem Speichel an und fördert die Bildung und Anlagerung von neuen fluoridierten Hydroxylapatit-Kristallen, sodass die Demineralisierung, die als Ursache der Karies gilt, im Grunde rückgängig gemacht wird.
Die Flüssigkeit CurodontTM Repair ist die erste regenerative Therapie, die bei frühen, aktiven, nicht kavitierten Kariesläsionen eine gesteuerte Schmelzregeneration induziert. Diese Initialkariesläsionen treten als matte White-Spot-Läsionen mit rauer, aber intakter Oberfläche auf. Für die frühe Erkennung von appproximalen Läsionen, die nicht immer einsehbar sind, sind Röntgenbilder unverzichtbar. Erweiterte diagnostische Massnahmen wie Laserfluoreszenzmessungen, faseroptische Transillumination, Impedanzmessung usw. können, wenn möglich, eingesetzt werden, um eine präzise Diagnose zu stellen.
CurodontTM Repair wirkt bei aktiven, nicht kavitierten Initialkariesläsionen. Kavitierte Läsionen weisen auf ein fortgeschrittenes Stadium der Karies hin, dass eine restaurative Behandlung unter Anwendung eines Bohrers erfordert. Die Früherkennung von Karies im Initialstadium ist entscheidend, um das Bohren zu vermeiden und um mit CurodontTM Repair eine einfache, schmerz- und angstfreie Behandlung zu ermöglichen.
CurodontTM Repair kann zur Behandlung von nicht kavitierten Initialkariesläsionen auf allen Zahnoberflächen eingesetzt werden. Das Spektrum der Läsionen, die mit CurodontTM Repair behandelt werden können, stellt sich gemäss den gängigen Klassifikationssystemen wie folgt dar:

i. E1-, E2- und D1-Kariesläsionen (Einteilung nach radiologischer Kariestiefe E0-E2, D1-D3). Behandlung von D1-Läsionen nur, wenn nicht kavitiert.

ii. D1-, D2- und D3-Läsionen nur, wenn nicht kavitiert (Kariesklassifikation nach Marthaler/WHO)

iii. Code 1, Code 2 und Code 3 (gemäss ICDAS-II-System) Eine Mikrokavität (Kariesläsion ICDAS-Code 3) kann mit CurodontTM Repair behandelt werden, um das Fortschreiten der Karies zu stoppen, eine “Füllung” der Mikrokavität kann jedoch nicht erwartet werden. Bei einer Läsion mit deutlicher Kavitätenbildung, d.h. wenn sich durch die kariöse Zerstörung ein Loch im Zahn gebildet hat, muss die Karies entfernt und die Kavität im Rahmen einer restaurativen Behandlung aufgefüllt werden.
Karies ist eine langsam fortschreitende Zahnerkrankung. Im fortgeschrittenen Stadium, sich eine Kavität gebildet hat, bleibt nur noch die Versorgung mit einem Füllmaterial auf Kunststoffbasis. Das Aufbohren und Füllen von kariösen Läsionen ist der Einstieg in einen Teufelskreis, der schliesslich mit dem Verlust des Zahns endet. Ein frühes Eingreifen im Initialstadium der Kariesläsion kann daher eine restaurative Therapie vermeiden oder hinauszögern und die Lebensdauer des Zahns verlängern. CurodontTM Repair hilft “verloren gegangenen” Zahnschmelz zu regenerieren, und ermöglicht Zähnen im Besten Fall einen Neuanfang.

Schon eine Anwendung von CurodontTM Repair pro Läsion reicht aus, um im Verlauf von 4 – 6 Monaten eine Remineralisation zu erreichen, eine gute Mundhygiene des Patienten/der Patientin vorausgesetzt. Und auch danach kann sich die Remineralisierung fortsetzen.

CurodontTM Repair hat keine bekannten Nebenwirkungen; die Anwendung bei Kindern ist sicher. Regelmässige Zahnarztbesuche zur Früherkennung von Karies und zur Behandlung von Initialkaries mit CurodontTM Repair ganz ohne Bohren werden empfohlen.
Die natürliche Schmelzbildung bei Milchzähnen wie bei bleibenden Zähnen dauert einige Monate bis Jahre. Da CurodontTM Repair die X+GER-Technologie nutzt, die die natürlichen Prozesse nachahmt, um den Zahnschmelz zu regenerieren, dauert es mindestens 4 – 6 Monate, bis eine erkennbare Remineralisierung erreicht ist.
Wenn CurodontTM Repair den Zahnschmelz in Initialkariesläsionen regeneriert, lagern sich die neu gebildeten Hydroxylapatit-Kristalle fächerförmig an die Biomatrix an, dies unterscheidet sich von der prismatischen Struktur des natürlichen Schmelzes. Dies führt zu etwas anderen optischen Eigenschaften verglichen mit dem natürlichen Zahnschmelz. Deshalb ist es möglich, dass eine White-Spot-Läsion, die mit CurodontTM Repair behandelt wurde, deutlich verblasst, der weisse Fleck jedoch nicht vollständig verschwindet.
CurodontTM Repair dringt dank seiner niedrigen Viskosität nachweislich in die Tiefe von frühen Kariesläsionen ein und bewirkt dort die Remineralisierung der Schmelzstruktur. Von anderen bekannten Remineralisierungsmitteln wie Fluorid weiss man, dass sie eine eher oberflächliche Remineralisierung bewirken, die die Kariesläsion aufhält. Bei der Anwendung von Fluoridformulierungen in Kombination mit einer guten Mundhygiene wurde in ~35 % der Fälle eine Inaktivierung von frühen Kariesläsionen beobachtet, während diese Rate bei CurodontTM Repair über 80 % betrug.* Schmidlin et al. beobachteten, dass CurodontTM Repair die Härte des Zahnschmelzes in einer 8-mal grösseren Tiefe wiederherstellt als Fluoridlack.**
Nein. CurodontTM Repair kann in Verbindung mit anderen Remineralisierungsmitteln wie z. B. Fluoridlacken verwendet werden, um die Regeneration und Remineralisierung des Zahnschmelzes zu optimieren. Tatsächlich wurde bei der kombinierten Anwendung von CurodontTM Repair und Fluoridlack eine deutlichere Karies-Inaktivierung erzielt als mit Fluoridlack allein.* Alle zusätzlichen Behandlungen sollten jedoch grundsätzlich erst mindestens 5 Minuten nach der Anwendung von CurodontTM Repair erfolgen, und nicht davor.
Eine regelmässige Mundhygiene, einschliesslich zweimal tägliches Zähneputzen mit fluoridhaltiger Zahnpasta, muss streng eingehalten werden. Darüber hinaus und insbesondere bei initialer Approximalkaries müssen die Zahnzwischenräume nach jeder Mahlzeit mit Zahnseide gereinigt werden. Eine gute Mundhygiene ist eine unerlässliche Voraussetzung für den Erfolg jeder Zahnbehandlung.
Die Harzinfiltration ist eine mikroinvasive Technologie, bei der die Poren und Mikroräume einer Initialkariesläsion mit einem niedrigviskosen, hydrophilen Harz (Tetraethylenglykoldimethacrylat, TEGDMA) infiltriert werden. Während die Harzinfiltration genau wie CurodontTM Repair die Behandlung von frühen, nicht kavitierten Kariesläsionen zum Ziel hat, ersetzt sie die verloren gegangenen Mineralien nicht wie CurodontTM Repair durch Hydroxylapatit, sondern durch ein körperfremdes Kunststoffmaterial. Da Hydroxylapatit der natürliche Hauptbestandteil der Zahnhartsubstanz ist, kann die gesteuerte Schmelzregeneration den natürlichen, gesunden Zustand des Zahns wieder herstellen. Hinzu kommt, dass die Anwendung von CurodontTM Repair keine spezielle Ausstattung erfordert und das gesamte Verfahren innerhalb von 10 – 15 Minuten durchgeführt werden kann.
Obgleich CurodontTM Repair schon nach einmaligem Auftragen die Remineralisierung der Läsion fördert, kann die Anwendung nach 3 – 6 Monaten wiederholt werden, wenn der Zahnarzt/die Zahnärztin feststellt, dass die Kariesläsion weiter aktiv ist.
In-vitro-Studien belegen, dass CurodontTM Repair nicht nur die Zahnschmelzregeneration fördert, sondern auch die weitere Demineralisierung des Schmelzes bremst. * Daher ist die regenerative Wirkung von CurodontTM Repair auf den Zahnschmelz nicht zeitlich begrenzt.

Testimonials

Welcome to vVARDIS for dental professionals! If you are not a dental professional and wish to make a purchase, please visit vvardis.com.

Free shipping for orders over 280 CHF / 270 €

CurodontTM Repair

Regenerative treatment of initial carious lesions
– Professional product, sold to dental professionals only –

CURODONTTM REPAIR arrests and reverses initial carious lesions through enamel regeneration.

Its Monomer-Peptide 104 patented technology remineralises the enamel structure until the depth of the defect, preserving the tooth.

Non-invasive, easy-to-use, and pain-free. Suitable for all patients

CHF 280.00 excl. VAT

10 units
Dental professionals in Switzerland wishing to place an order, please do so using our distribution partner website curaden-dentaldepot.ch
Description

Box contains 10 units of ready-to-use applicators.
One applicator can treat 1-3 lesions per patient.

USE
In office
In office and at home

Guided Enamel Regeneration

Guided Enamel Regeneration (GER) is a regenerative treatment of initial carious lesions. GER bridges the gap between prevention and invasive restorative treatments. It enables effective therapy of initial caries through in-depth regeneration of the enamel, whilst still maintaining the integrity of the tooth. By diffusing rapidly until the depth of early, active, non-cavitated early carious lesions (Caries classification table for indications of CurodontTM Repair) and forming new hydroxyapatite crystals, the Monomer-Peptide 104 technology in CurodontTM Repair enables Guided Enamel Regeneration via an easy, non-invasive and pain-free application.

Mode of Action

The technology in CurodontTM Repair is formulated as a low viscosity liquid with high affinity to hydroxyapatite. The unique conditions within carious lesions enable the organization of the peptide monomers into the biomatrix. This matrix guides the regeneration of enamel by serving as a ‘platform’ for the formation of new hydroxyapatite crystals.
Active carious lesions with a pseudo-intact enamel surface layer
The Monomer-Peptide 104 technology diffuses until the depth of the carious lesion within 5 minutes
The peptides of the Monomer-Peptide104 technology assemble into a biomatrix within the carious lesion
The biomatrix formed by the Monomer-Peptide104 technology attracts calcium and phosphate ions from the saliva for de novo nucleation of hydroxyapatite crystals, leading to remineralization

Scientific & Clinical Evidence

CurodontTM Repair (CR) demonstrates significantly superior Inactivation and Regression of Early Caries compared to Fluoride Varnish (FV) alone.1
After 6 months, 80% of caries treated with CR+FV became inactive as opposed to only 34% of those treated with FV alone, as assessed by Nyvad Caries Activity Criteria.
Greater decrease in laser fluorescence readings (assessed using DIAGNODent), signifying greater caries regression for treatment with CR+FV compared to FV alone.

Visible Evidence

Regeneration of a proximal caries lesion
Dr. Markus Schlee: Stomatologie 2014 (111);
175 – 181
Day 0
After six months
Occlusal caries
Dr. Frank Bröseler, 2012
Day 0
After six months
Visible “fading“ of the white spot lesion
Dr. Frank Bröseler: Broeseler, F. Et al. Clin Oral Invest 2020; 24: 123 – 132
Day 0
After six months

How to apply

The non-invasive therapy with CurodontTM Repair is as safe as its application is easy.

The entire process of applying CurodontTM Repair is completed within 8-10 minutes, without drilling, anesthesia, or pain.
  1. Perform oral prophylaxis in the area to be treated to eliminate any calculus/ plaque/materia alba. Isolate the area using cheek retractors and cotton rolls. Use of a rubber dam is optional.
  2. Clean the tooth surface for 20 seconds using a small cotton pellet dipped in 2-3% sodium hypochlorite to remove the organic pellicle; then, rinse with water.
  3. Etch the surface of the early carious lesion with 35-37% orthophosphoric acid for 20 seconds. If on a proximal surface, unwaxed dental floss may be used to distribute the etchant in the interdental space. Rinse and pat the tooth to dry. Aggressive drying is not recommended.
  4. Use one CurodontTM Repair applicator per lesion. After withdrawing the applicator sponge, press it onto the lesion surface to squeeze out the all the liquid. In case of proximal caries on adjacent teeth, one applicator may be used for two lesions.
  5. Wait for 5 min. Do not rinse or ask the patient to spit. Discharge the patient with routine instructions and emphasize the need to maintain good oral hygiene.
  1. Alkilzy M, Tarabaih A, Santamaria RM, Splieth CH. Self-assembling Peptide P11-4 and Fluoride for Regenerating Enamel. J Dent Res. 2018 Feb;97(2):148-154.

FAQ

Guided Enamel Regeneration (GER) is essentially a tissue regeneration treatment concept wherein tooth enamel is rebuilt after being lost to caries and wear, without the need to drill the tooth.

CurodontTM Repair is a low-viscosity liquid material that carries the globally patented ‘Monomer-Peptide 104‘ technology (formerly, ‘X’ technology) in the highest concentration. This revolutionary technology employs a short, ‘intelligent’ peptide, made of naturally occurring amino acids, to promote deposition of hydroxyapatite (the main tooth-building mineral) within carious lesions and stop the progression of incipient lesions
CurodontTM Repair employs the clinically proven and award-winning ‘Monomer-Peptide 104‘ technology (formerly, ‘X’ technology) to bring about guided enamel regeneration within early, non-cavitated enamel lesions. When applied, this technology penetrates until the very depth of the carious lesion. Once inside and triggered by the acidic environment of carious lesions, the intelligent peptide monomers assemble to form a matrix, which resembles the natural enamel matrix. This matrix then attracts calcium and phosphate ions from the saliva and promotes the formation and deposition of new hydroxyapatite crystals, essentially reversing the mineral loss seen as a result of caries.
CurodontTM Repair is a first-in-class, regenerative liquid material that induces guided enamel regeneration in early, active, non-cavitated carious lesions. These lesions appear as white spots with a rough, but intact surface. Visual inspection should be supported by intraoral bitewing or periapical radiographs to assess the depth of the caries and confirm if the lesions are amenable to regenerative measures. For proximal lesions, which may not be visually accessible, radiographs are crucial to the diagnosis of early lesions. Advanced diagnostic measures, such as laser fluorescence, fibre-optic transillumination, impedance measurement, etc. maybe used to achieve an accurate diagnosis.
CurodontTM Repair works on active, early, non-cavitated carious lesions. Cavitated lesions, which represent an advanced stage of the carious process, must be treated with restorations that require drilling of the tooth. Detection of caries in their incipient stages is essential to avoid the need to drill the tooth and to provide a simple, pain-free, and anxiety-free solution to patients with CurodontTM Repair.
CurodontTM Repair can be used for treatment of early, non-cavitated carious lesions on all tooth surfaces. Therefore, the range of lesions that be treated using CurodontTM Repair, according to popular classification systems, are as follows:

i. E1, E2, and D1 carious lesions (according to E0-E2, D1-D3 notation system). D1 lesions treated only if they are not cavitated. Anusavice K. Present and future approaches for the control of caries. J Dent Educ. 2005;69(5):538-854.

ii. D1, D2, and D3 lesions only if they are not cavitated (according to Marthaler/WHO caries classification) Marthaler TM: A standardized system of recording dental conditions. Helv Odontol Acta 1966;10:1–18.

iii. Score 1, score 2, and score 3 (according to ICDAS II scoring system) https://iccms-web.com/uploads/asset/592848be55d87564970232.pdf. Accessed 01/02/2022

If the carious lesion is in the form of a microcavity (ICDAS score 3), CurodontTM Repair may be used to stop the progression of the lesion, but ‘filling’ of the microcavity should not be expected. Further, if frank cavitatation is present, which means a hole has developed in the tooth due to the decay, removal of the caries and a restoration to fill the cavity is needed.

Caries is a slowly progressing dental disease. In its advanced stages, when it has progressed to the middle or inner thirds of dentin, the carious lesions may get cavitated. Once a cavity develops, the only resort is to restore with an artificial plastic material. Drilling and filling of carious lesions is the beginning of the death spiral of a tooth, which eventually ends with tooth loss. Therefore, intervening when the carious lesion is still in its incipient stages avoids or delays the need for restorations and elongates the life of a tooth. Curodont Repair helps regenerate the ‘lost’ enamel and gives teeth a fresh start.

For each lesion, only one application of CurodontTM Repair is sufficient to bring about reminerlisation over a course of 4-6 months, provided the patient maintains good oral hygiene in this period. The remineralization may continue to increase thereafter.
CurodontTM Repair has no known side effects and can safely be utilized in children. Regular dental appointments to detect caries in the earliest stages and their drill-free management using CurodontTM Repair is recommended.
Natural enamel formation in primary and permanent teeth requires a few months to a few years, respectively. As CurodontTM Repair employs the X+GER technology, which mimics Nature to regenerate enamel, it requires at least 4-6 months to demonstrate discernible remineralization.
When CurodontTM Repair regenerates enamel within incipient carious lesions, the newly formed hydroxyapatite crystals are deposited in a fan-shaped arrangement on the biomatrix, unlike the prismatic structure of natural enamel. This leads to slightly different optical properties as compared to natural enamel. Due to this, the white appearance of incipient caries treated with CurodontTM Repair may fade to a significant extent but may not completely disappear.
CurodontTM Repair, owing to its low viscosity and high affinity to hydroxyapatite, has been found to reach to the depth of early carious lesions and bring about remineralization. Other known remineralising agents, such as fluoride, have been known to bring about a more superficial remineralization leading to arrest of the carious lesion. With fluoride formulations, accompanied by good oral hygiene, inactivation of early carious lesions has been seen to be ~35%, while that with CurodontTM Repair, inactivation of caries has been observed to be over 80%.* Schmidlin et al. observed that CurodontTM Repair was able to restore the hardness of enamel at a depth 8 times greater that was possible with fluoride varnish.** *Alkilzy M, Tarabaih A, Santamaria RM, Splieth CH. Self-assembling Peptide P11-4 and Fluoride for Regenerating Enamel. J Dent Res. 2018 Feb;97(2):148-154 Comment CB: here you could also add the Doberdoli study as additional reference. **Schmidlin P, Zobrist K, Attin T, Wegehaupt F. In vitro re-hardening of artificial enamel caries lesions using enamel matrix proteins or self-assembling peptides. J Appl Oral Sci. 2016 Jan-Feb;24(1):31-6.
No. CurodontTM Repair can be used in conjunction with other remineralising agents, such as fluoride varnish, to optimize enamel regeneration and mineralization. In fact, the concurrent use of CurodontTM Repair and fluoride varnish has been successfully used to produce greater inactivation of caries compared to fluoride varnish alone.* However, all treatments should be carried out only after an interval of at least 5 minutes after the application of CurodontTM Repair and not before. *Alkilzy M, Tarabaih A, Santamaria RM, Splieth CH. Self-assembling Peptide P11-4 and Fluoride for Regenerating Enamel. J Dent Res. 2018 Feb;97(2):148-154. Comment CB: here you could also add the Doberdoli study as additional reference.
Routine oral hygiene measures including brushing with fluoridated toothpastes twice a day must strictly be followed. Additionally, and especially, in cases with early caries on proximal surfaces, interdental flossing must be performed after meals to ensure the cleanliness of the area. Good oral hygiene maintenance is a pre-requisite for the success of any dental treatment.
Resin infiltration is a micro-invasive technology which aims to infiltrate the pores and microspaces of an early carious lesion with a low-viscosity, hydrophilic resin (tetraethyleneglycol dimethacrylate, TEGDMA). While it also aims to treat early non-cavitated carious lesions like CurodontTM Repair, resin infiltration restores the lost minerals with a foreign, plastic material as opposed to with hydroxyapatite as CurodontTM Repair does. As the tooth is naturally made up of hydroxyapatite, guided enamel regeneration restores the tooth to its natural, sound state. Moreover, the use of CurodontTM Repair does not require any special armamentarium and the application can be completed start-to-finish within 10-15 minutes.
Although one application of CurodontTM Repair per lesion promotes remineralization, it can nevertheless be re-applied 3-6 months after the first application, if the dental professional finds the carious lesion to still be active.
In-vitro studies have shown that CurodontTM Repair not only promotes enamel regeneration but also inhibits further demineralization of the enamel. * Therefore, the regenerative effect of CurodontTM Repair on enamel is not limited in time.

*Kirkham J, et al. Self-assembling peptide scaffolds promote enamel remineralization. J Dent Res 2007;86:426-43s

Testimonials

CurodontTM Repair

CHF 280.00 excl. VAT

Welcome to vVARDIS!

You are on our website for dental professionals.
If you are not a dental professional and wish to make a purchase, please visit vvardis.com.